Naik Jadunath Singh birth anniversary special: 21 November

Avatar of Divya Sharma
Naik Jadunath Singh birth anniversary special: 21 November

Naik Jadunath Singh was a soldier in the Indian Army. He was decorated with Param Vir Chakra in 1950 for his indomitable courage, bravery and excellent military tactics in the India-Pakistan war of 1947-48.

Naik Jadunath Singh Information in English

  • Jadunath Singh was born on November 21, 1916.
  • He was born in Khajuri village of Kalan tehsil area of Shahjahanpur district of Uttar Pradesh.
  • Mrs. Jamuna Kanwar and Mr. Birbal Singh Rathore were his parents.
  • His family background was of farming.
  • He was known as a wrestling champion in his village.

Military career

  • Jadunath Singh joined the Rajput Regiment on 21 November 1941 at the Regimental Centre, Fatehgarh.
  • After training, he was included in the first battalion of Rajput Regiment.
  • After the end of 1942, the battalion was deployed to the Arakan Province during the Burma Campaign for the Arakan Campaign 1942–1943, where they fought against the Japanese.
  • He was promoted to the rank of Lance Naik in July 1947.
  • He participated in the India-Pakistan war of 1947-48 and attained martyrdom while fighting on February 6, 1948.
  • In this war (Battle of Tangdhar), he displayed his determination, remarkable bravery and exemplary leadership spirit and defeated the Pakistanis.
  • For his extraordinary bravery he was decorated with Param Vir Chakra (posthumously).

What was the battle of Tangdhar?

Tangdhar is a village located in Kupwara district of Jammu and Kashmir. It is a forward village near the Line of Control (LoC). The village is located at a distance of 67 kilometers (42 mi) from the district headquarters Kupwara. With Neelum Valley in the north and Lipa in the south, Tangdhar is surrounded by Pakistan Administered Kashmir (PoK) on three sides.

During the India-Pakistan war of 1947-48, Pakistan launched simultaneous attacks on several fronts and Tangdhar in Nowshera sector was one such front. This was of great importance to the enemy as it could pave the way for them to gain control of Srinagar airfield. In this area, the enemy simultaneously attacked several forward posts (pickets) of India, which were thwarted by Indian bravery. This war is called ‘Battle of Tangdhar’.

For this reason, hero Jadunath Singh got Paramveer Chakra.

On February 5, 1948, Naik Jadunath Singh was commanding Picket No. 2 of Nowshera Post, a forward section defender with soldiers. Pakistani soldiers were advancing in large numbers. Three consecutive attacks were made by the enemy army to capture the post of Naik Jadunath. Naik Jadunath Singh led his comrades in defending the post. He and his section managed to repel three consecutive enemy attacks.

By the end of the third wave, 24 of the 27 soldiers at the post were either dead or seriously injured. Despite being seriously injured, armed with a Sten gun, he single-handedly attacked with such courage that the attackers had to retreat. With indomitable courage and disregard for his personal safety, he attacked the enemy forces and died fighting during the attack.

His sacrifice inspired his wounded soldiers and they stood up. By then, a contingent of 3 Para Rajput had also reached there. For this act of supreme bravery and supreme sacrifice he was awarded the Param Vir Chakra (posthumously).

Paramveer Chakra: 21 Paramveers who became immortal in the pages of history

Somnath SharmaMajor3 Nov 1947
Jadunath SinghNaik6 Feb 1948
Rama Raghoba RaneSecond Lieutenant8 Apr 1948
Piru SinghCompany Havildar Major17 Jul 1948
Karam SinghLance Naik13 Oct 1948
Gurbachan Singh SalariaCaptain5 Dec 1961
Dhan Singh ThapaMajor20 Oct 1962
Joginder SinghSubedar23 Oct 1962
Shaitan SinghMajor18 Nov 1962
Abdul HamidCompany Quarter Master Havildar10 Sep 1965
Ardeshir TaraporeLieutenant Colonel11 Sep 1965
Albert EkkaLance Naik3 Dec 1971
Nirmal Jit Singh SekhonFlying Officer14 Dec 1971
Arun KhetarpalSecond Lieutenant16 Dec 1971
Hoshiar Singh DahiyaMajor17 Dec 1971
Bana SinghNaib Subedar23 May 1987
Ramaswamy ParameshwaranMajor25 Nov 1987
Manoj Kumar PandeyLieutenant3 Jul 1999
Yogendra Singh YadavGrenadier4 Jul 1999
Sanjay KumarRifleman5 Jul 1999
Vikram BatraCaptain7 Jul 1999

Previous Post
Modi visits Team India Dressing Room

Video Surfaced of PM Modi Visiting Team India’s Dressing Room

Next Post
Top 10 films of Kartik Aaryan

Top 10 films of Kartik Aaryan

Related Posts
Outfit Ideas for Girls Best Street Foods in Chennai Apart from Idli Dosa Laddu Gopal Winter Dresses Kalibadis to Visit in Delhi this Durga Puja Sawan Mehndi Design