Ramnath Kovind Birthday Special: 1 October

Avatar of Divya Sharma

Ram Nath Kovind is an Indian politician and was the 14th President of India. He was the President of India from July 25, 2017 to July 25, 2022.

Ramnath Kovind was born on October 1, 1945 in Derapur village of Kanpur district of Uttar Pradesh. Ram Nath Kovind was born in a Dalit family to Maiku Lal and Kalavati during the British Raj in Paraunkh village of Kanpur Dehat district of Uttar Pradesh. His family background was extremely humble. His father Maculal ran a shop and was also a farmer and local physician. His mother Kalavati was a housewife.

He has a bachelor’s degree in commerce and an LLB from DAV College (Kanpur University). After completing his law degree, Kovind moved to Delhi to prepare for the Civil Services Examination.

He passed the Civil Services Examination, but did not join the services and instead started practicing law in Delhi. He was a lawyer in Delhi High Court and Supreme Court.

Entry into politics

He joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in 1991 and became involved in various social and political activities. Kovind held various organizational positions in BJP. His focus in the party was on issues related to the upliftment of marginalized and deprived communities.

In 1994, Kovind was elected as a Member of Parliament to the Rajya Sabha (the upper house of the Indian Parliament) from the state of Uttar Pradesh. He served in the Rajya Sabha for two consecutive terms for 12 years from 1994 to 2006.


In 2015, Ram Nath Kovind was appointed as the Governor of the Indian state of Bihar, a position he held until June 2017.

Presidential election

In 2017, Ram Nath Kovind was nominated as the presidential candidate by the ruling BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA).

He won the presidential election with an overwhelming majority and was sworn in as the 14th President of India on July 25, 2017.

Ramnath Kovind’s contribution and service is significant in Indian politics, and he exemplifies as an ordinary Indian that a person coming from any social condition can reach the highest office of the Republic of India. His leadership and spirit of service have received respect and admiration, and he is one of the important personalities of Indian politics.

List of Indian President

Name Tenure
Rajendra Prasad
Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan May 1962 – 13 May 1967
Zakir Hussain May 1967 – 3 May 1969
VV Giri (Acting President) May 1969 – 20 July 1969
Mohammad Hidayatullah (Acting President) July 1969 to 24 August 1969
V.V Giri August 1969 – 24 August 1974
Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed August 1974 – 11 February 1977
Basappa Danappa Jatti (Acting President) February 1977 – 25 July 1977
Neelam Sanjiva Reddy July 1977 – 25 July 1982
Giani Zail Singh July 1982 – 25 July 1987
R Venkataraman July 1987 – 25 July 1992
Shankar Dayal Sharma July 1992 – 25 July 1997
K R Narayanan July 1997 – 25 July 2002
APJ Abdul Kalam July 2002 – 25 July 2007
Pratibha Patil July 2007 – 25 July 2012
Pranab Mukherjee July – 25 July 2017
Ram Nath Kovind July 2017 – 21 July 2022
Draupadi Murmu 21 July 2022-Incumbent
Previous Post
Long Weekend Trip places in India

Long Weekend Trip in October: Visit these beautiful places in India

Next Post
A. C. Bhaktivedanta Swami ‘Prabhupad’: Founder Acharya of ISKCON organization

A. C. Bhaktivedanta Swami ‘Prabhupad’: Founder Acharya of ISKCON organization

Related Posts
Outfit Ideas for Girls Best Street Foods in Chennai Apart from Idli Dosa Laddu Gopal Winter Dresses Kalibadis to Visit in Delhi this Durga Puja Sawan Mehndi Design