Zimbabwe came close to defeating Bangladesh in Brisbane after shocking Pakistan in the T20 World Cup encounter. Before losing the game by three runs, the Sikandar Raza-led team came very close to defeating the Bangla Tigers. The game’s last over played out, though, had cricket fans worldwide scratching their heads. At first, it appeared as if Bangladesh had won by four runs, but Zimbabwe’s batsmen were summoned back to the field when the umpire declared a no-ball under unusual circumstances.
The encounter between Zimbabwe and Bangladesh was no exception to the breathtaking drama that has already been generated in the T20 World Cup in Australia in 2022. Zimbabwe scored 11 runs in the final six balls of the game, needing 16 runs. Zimbabwe garnered 11 runs from the first four balls, leaving just 5 to be scored from the final 2.
Richard Ngarava was stumped by Bangladeshi spinner Mosaddek Hossain on the last ball of the game. On the last ball, Blessing Muzarabani sprinted forward to get beyond the ropes, but he missed the ball and was stumped.
The umpires reviewed the tape, though, and discovered that Bangladesh wicket-keeper Nurul Hasan had taken the catch just before the stumps. After lengthy deliberation, the third umpire declared Muzarabani not out and declared the delivery a no-ball, allowing Zimbabwe a second chance to win the match.
Muzarabani missed the ball once more, and there was no second opportunity this time.
With two victories from three games, Bangladesh has moved up to second place in Group 2 due to the victory. Zimbabwe is ranked fourth with one victory out of three games.