Second Lieutenant Arun Khetrapal Jayanti Special: 14 October

Avatar of Divya Sharma

Second Lieutenant Arun Khetrapal was an Indian Army officer who is remembered for his extraordinary bravery and sacrifice during the India–Pakistan War of 1971. He was born on 14 October 1950 in Pune, Maharashtra.

Arun Khetrapal was part of the 17 Poona Horse Regiment during the war. On December 16, 1971, during the Battle of Basantar in the western sector of the war, he was commanding a Centurion tank. His force was ordered to capture a strategic area, and despite heavy enemy fire, he led his tanks into battle. During the battle, his tank was attacked several times, but he continued to engage the enemy forces.

Ultimately his tank took a direct hit and Arun Khetrapal was seriously injured. Despite his injuries and his tank on fire, he refused to abandon his position and continued fighting until his last breath. His actions played a vital role in successfully achieving the objective. For his extraordinary bravery, Second Lieutenant Arun Khetrapal was posthumously awarded the Param Vir Chakra, India’s highest military decoration for gallantry.

Arun Khetarpal’s courage and selflessness remains an inspiring example of bravery and sacrifice for the armed forces and the nation. His sacrifice is remembered and honored in India, and his story is often told to inspire younger generations.

Paramveer Chakra: 21 Paramveers who became immortal in the pages of history

Name Rank Date
Somnath Sharma Major 3 Nov 1947
Jadunath Singh Naik 6 Feb 1948
Rama Raghoba Rane Second Lieutenant 8 Apr 1948
Piru Singh Company Havildar Major 17 Jul 1948
Karam Singh Lance Naik 13 Oct 1948
Gurbachan Singh Salaria Captain 5 Dec 1961
Dhan Singh Thapa Major 20 Oct 1962
Joginder Singh Subedar 23 Oct 1962
Shaitan Singh Major 18 Nov 1962
Abdul Hamid Company Quarter Master Havildar 10 Sep 1965
Ardeshir Tarapore Lieutenant Colonel 11 Sep 1965
Albert Ekka Lance Naik 3 Dec 1971
Nirmal Jit Singh Sekhon Flying Officer 14 Dec 1971
Arun Khetarpal Second Lieutenant 16 Dec 1971
Hoshiar Singh Dahiya Major 17 Dec 1971
Bana Singh Naib Subedar 23 May 1987
Ramaswamy Parameshwaran Major 25 Nov 1987
Manoj Kumar Pandey Lieutenant 3 Jul 1999
Yogendra Singh Yadav Grenadier 4 Jul 1999
Sanjay Kumar Rifleman 5 Jul 1999
Vikram Batra Captain 7 Jul 1999

Tribute to 21 immortal martyrs from a grateful nation!

Previous Post
Raman Singh Birthday Special: 15 October

Raman Singh Birthday Special: 15 October

Next Post
Hema Malini: Happy Birthday

Hema Malini: Happy Birthday

Related Posts
Diwali Outfit Ideas for Girls Best Street Foods in Chennai Apart from Idli Dosa Laddu Gopal Winter Dresses Kalibadis to Visit in Delhi this Durga Puja Sawan Mehndi Design