Sir Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman Jayanti Special: 7 November

Avatar of Divya Sharma
Sir Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman Jayanti Special: 7 November

India has always been the land of knowledge and science. Even today, be it DRDO, BARC, ISRO or NTRO, their achievements are making the country proud. These scientific achievements stand on the foundation of the achievements of many scientists and mathematicians. One such scientist was Chandrashekhar Venkataraman, famously known as CV Raman.

C.V. Raman was an Indian physicist. He was awarded the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1930.

Raman was born on November 7, 1888 in Tiruchirappalli, southern India. His parents were Chandrasekhar Ramanathan Iyer and Parvati Ammal. His father was a lecturer in mathematics and physics, so he was immersed in an academic environment from early on. He joined the Presidency College, Madras in 1902 and graduated with a B.A. in 1904. passed to. B.A. In this examination he won first place and gold medal in Physics. In the year 1907, he obtained M.A. with highest distinction. Received degree of_.

After earning a master’s degree in physics from the Presidency College of the University of Madras in 1907, Raman became an accountant in the Finance Department of the Government of India. Although his office occupied most of his time, Raman found opportunities to conduct experimental research in the laboratory of the Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science in Calcutta (of which he became honorary secretary in 1919).

In 1917 he taught as Professor of Physics at the University of Calcutta. After 15 years in Calcutta he became professor at IISc-B of the Indian Institute of Science (1933–1948) in Bangalore, and in 1948 he became director of the Raman Institute of Research in Bangalore, which he himself had founded.

In the year 1930, he received the ‘Nobel Prize’ for his research on light, which was later called ‘Raman Effect’. In 1954, he was awarded ‘Bharat Ratna’ by the Government of India.

While working in the laboratory in 1970, he suffered a massive heart attack. On November 21, 1970, he breathed his last at the Raman Research Institute. The works and achievements of Sir Chandrashekhar Venkata Raman will always inspire present and future scientists.

C.V. Raman Biography 

November 7, 1888Birth, Tiruchchirāppalli (India)
1904Obtained BSc degree in Physics, Presidency College, University of Madras, Chennai (India)
1907Initially decided to pursue a non-scientific career, Indian Finance Department
1907Obtained MA degree, Presidency College, University of Madras, Chennai (India)
1918Palit Chair of Physics, University of Calcutta, Kolkata (India)
1919Honorary Secretary, Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Kolkata (India).
1922Published “Molecular Diffraction of Light”
1924Fellow, Royal Society
1928Discovered the Radiation Effect, now called the Raman Effect
1930Awarded Nobel Prize in Physics “for his work on the scattering of light and for the discovery of the effect named after him”
1933 – 1948Professor of Physics, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore (India)
1948Director and Founder, Raman Research Institute, Bangalore (India)
1954He was awarded the Bharat Ratna
1957Awarded by Lenin Peace Prize
1970Death, Bangalore (India)

Bharat Ratna Award List

Year Recipients About
 Bharat Ratna 1954 C. Rajagopalachari Activist, statesman, and lawyer
 Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan  India’s first Vice-President and second President
C. V. Raman Physicists, mathematicians, and scientists
 Bharat Ratna 1955 Bhagwan Das Activist, philosopher, and educationist
M. Visvesvaraya Civil engineer, statesman, and Diwan of Mysore
Jawaharlal Nehru Activist and author served as the Prime Minister of India
Bharat Ratna 1957 Govind Ballabh Pant Activist and first Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh
Bharat Ratna 1958 Dhondo Keshav Karve Social reformer and educator
Bharat Ratna 1961 Bidhan Chandra Roy Physician, political leader, philanthropist, educationist, and social worker
Purushottam Das Tandon Activist and speaker of the United Provinces Legislative Assembly
Bharat Ratna 1962 Rajendra Prasad Activist, lawyer, statesman, and scholar
Bharat Ratna 1963 Zakir Husain Activist, economist, and education philosopher served as a Vice-Chancellor of Aligarh Muslim University and the Governor of Bihar
Pandurang Vaman Kane Indologist and Sanskrit scholar, known for his five-volume literary work
Bharat Ratna 1966 Lal Bahadur Shastri Activist and served as the second Prime Minister of India
Bharat Ratna 1971 Indira Gandhi  First women Prime Minister of India
Bharat Ratna 1975 V. V. Giri Trade Unionist
Bharat Ratna 1976 K. Kamaraj Independence activist and statesman, former Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu
Bharat Ratna 1980 Mother Teresa  Catholic nun and the founder of the Missionaries of Charity.
1983 Vinoba Bhave  Activist, social reformer, and a close associate of Mahatma Gandhi
Bharat Ratna 1987 Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan First noncitizen, independence activist
Bharat Ratna 1988 M. G. Ramachandran Actor turned politician, Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu
Bharat Ratna 1990 B.R. Ambedkar Social reformer and leader of the Dalits
Nelson Mandela Leader of the Anti-Apartheid Movement in South Africa, President of South Africa
Bharat Ratna 1991 Rajiv Gandhi Gandhi was the ninth Prime Minister of India serving from 1984 to 1989.
Vallabhbhai Patel Activist and first Deputy Prime Minister of India
Morarji Desai Activist, and Prime Minister of India
Bharat Ratna 1992 Abul Kalam Azad Activist and first Minister of education
J. R. D. Tata Industrialist, philanthropist, and aviation pioneer
Satyajit Ray Director, filmmaker, writer, novelist
Bharat Ratna 1997 Gulzarilal Nanda Activist, and interim Prime Minister of India.
Aruna Asaf Ali Activist
A.P.J Abdul Kalam Aerospace and defense scientist
Bharat Ratna 1998 M. S. Subbulakshmi Carnatic classical vocalist
Chidambaram Subramaniam Activist and former Minister of Agriculture of India
Bharat Ratna 1999 Jayaprakash Narayan  Activist, and social reformer
Amartya Sen Economist
Gopinath Bordoloi Activist
Ravi Shankar Musician, sitar player
Bharat Ratna 2001 Lata Mangeshkar Singer
Bismillah Khan Hindustani classical shehnai player
Bharat Ratna 2009 Bhimsen Joshi Hindustani classical vocalist
Bharat Ratna 2014 C. N. R. Rao  Chemist and professor, author
Sachin Tendulkar Cricketer
Bharat Ratna 2015 Madan Mohan Malaviya Scholar and educational reformer.
Atal Bihari Bajpayee Elected nine times to the Lok Sabha, twice to the Rajya Sabha, and served as the Prime Minister of India for three terms.
Bharat Ratna 2019 Pranab Mukherjee Indian politician, and senior leader in the Indian National Congress.
Nanaji Deshmukh A social activist from India, education, health, and rural self-reliance.
Bhupen Hazarika  Indian playback singer, lyricist, musician, singer, poet, and filmmaker from Assam.

Previous Post
Odd-Even Formula Re-Implemented in Delhi

Odd-Even Formula Re-Implemented in Delhi

Next Post
Chennai Street Food

Best Street Foods in Chennai Apart from Idli Dosa

Related Posts
Outfit Ideas for Girls Best Street Foods in Chennai Apart from Idli Dosa Laddu Gopal Winter Dresses Kalibadis to Visit in Delhi this Durga Puja Sawan Mehndi Design