Lal Bahadur Shastri

Avatar of Divya Sharma

Lal Bahadur Shastri was an Indian politician and statesman who served as the second Prime Minister of India from 1964 to 1966.

Lal Bahadur Shastri Biography

BirthOctober 2, 1904
birth placeMughalsarai, Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh
ParentsSharda Prasad Srivastava (father) and Ramdulari Devi (mother)
WifeLalita Devi
ChildrenKusum, Hari Krishna, Suman, Anil, Sunil and Ashok
political partyIndian National Congress
deathJanuary 11, 1966
Memorial Vijay Ghat, New Delhi

Lal Bahadur Shastri was born on October 2, 1904 in the small town of Mughalsarai in British India. Shastri ji was born on 2 October 1904 in Mughalsarai to Sharda Prasad Srivastava and Ramdulari Devi.

He attended East Central Railway Inter College and Harish Chandra High School, which he left to join the non-cooperation movement. He worked for the welfare of Harijans in Muzaffarpur and dropped his caste-derived surname “Srivastava”.

He was a devoted follower of Mahatma Gandhi and, inspired by the principles of non-violence and civil disobedience, actively participated in India’s fight for independence. He was arrested several times by the British authorities due to his involvement in various protests and movements.

Ministerial Position

With India’s independence in 1947, Shastri transformed from a freedom fighter to a politician. He became a prominent member of the Indian National Congress and held key ministerial positions in the post-independence government. He served as Railway Minister, Home Minister and Foreign Minister.

Prime Minister of India

The turning point in Shastri’s political career came in 1964 when he was elected as the Prime Minister of India after the death of Jawaharlal Nehru. His leadership was characterized by his humble and down to earth personality. He advocated economic self-reliance and stressed the need for national unity and self-reliance.

India-Pakistan war of 1965

One of the most challenging periods of Shastri’s prime ministership was the India-Pakistan war of 1965. His famous slogan, “Jai Jawan, Jai Kisan” (Hail to the soldier, Hail to the farmer) reflected his vision for a strong, united India. This phrase highlighted the importance of both the military and agricultural sectors in the development of the country.

Tashkent Agreement

Shastri’s commitment to peace was evident when he worked to end the conflict and initiated peace talks with Pakistan. In January 1966, he traveled to Tashkent, then part of the Soviet Union, to sign the Tashkent Agreement with Pakistan President Ayub Khan. Sadly, he died in Tashkent the day after the agreement under circumstances that remain a matter of speculation.

End time

Lal Bahadur Shastri died under mysterious circumstances on January 11, 1966. Lal Bahadur Shastri’s legacy endures as a symbol of simplicity, integrity and unwavering dedication to the service of the nation. His brief but influential tenure as Prime Minister of India left an indelible mark on the country’s history. Shastri ji remained known for his honesty and humility throughout his life. He was posthumously awarded Bharat Ratna. His monument is known as “Vijay Ghat” in Delhi.

Bharat Ratna Award List

Year Recipients About
 Bharat Ratna 1954 C. Rajagopalachari Activist, statesman, and lawyer
 Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan  India’s first Vice-President and second President
C. V. Raman Physicists, mathematicians, and scientists
 Bharat Ratna 1955 Bhagwan Das Activist, philosopher, and educationist
M. Visvesvaraya Civil engineer, statesman, and Diwan of Mysore
Jawaharlal Nehru Activist and author served as the Prime Minister of India
Bharat Ratna 1957 Govind Ballabh Pant Activist and first Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh
Bharat Ratna 1958 Dhondo Keshav Karve Social reformer and educator
Bharat Ratna 1961 Bidhan Chandra Roy Physician, political leader, philanthropist, educationist, and social worker
Purushottam Das Tandon Activist and speaker of the United Provinces Legislative Assembly
Bharat Ratna 1962 Rajendra Prasad Activist, lawyer, statesman, and scholar
Bharat Ratna 1963 Zakir Husain Activist, economist, and education philosopher served as a Vice-Chancellor of Aligarh Muslim University and the Governor of Bihar
Pandurang Vaman Kane Indologist and Sanskrit scholar, known for his five-volume literary work
Bharat Ratna 1966 Lal Bahadur Shastri Activist and served as the second Prime Minister of India
Bharat Ratna 1971 Indira Gandhi  First women Prime Minister of India
Bharat Ratna 1975 V. V. Giri Trade Unionist
Bharat Ratna 1976 K. Kamaraj Independence activist and statesman, former Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu
Bharat Ratna 1980 Mother Teresa  Catholic nun and the founder of the Missionaries of Charity.
1983 Vinoba Bhave  Activist, social reformer, and a close associate of Mahatma Gandhi
Bharat Ratna 1987 Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan First noncitizen, independence activist
Bharat Ratna 1988 M. G. Ramachandran Actor turned politician, Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu
Bharat Ratna 1990 B.R. Ambedkar Social reformer and leader of the Dalits
Nelson Mandela Leader of the Anti-Apartheid Movement in South Africa, President of South Africa
Bharat Ratna 1991 Rajiv Gandhi Gandhi was the ninth Prime Minister of India serving from 1984 to 1989.
Vallabhbhai Patel Activist and first Deputy Prime Minister of India
Morarji Desai Activist, and Prime Minister of India
Bharat Ratna 1992 Abul Kalam Azad Activist and first Minister of education
J. R. D. Tata Industrialist, philanthropist, and aviation pioneer
Satyajit Ray Director, filmmaker, writer, novelist
Bharat Ratna 1997 Gulzarilal Nanda Activist, and interim Prime Minister of India.
Aruna Asaf Ali Activist
A.P.J Abdul Kalam Aerospace and defense scientist
Bharat Ratna 1998 M. S. Subbulakshmi Carnatic classical vocalist
Chidambaram Subramaniam Activist and former Minister of Agriculture of India
Bharat Ratna 1999 Jayaprakash Narayan  Activist, and social reformer
Amartya Sen Economist
Gopinath Bordoloi Activist
Ravi Shankar Musician, sitar player
Bharat Ratna 2001 Lata Mangeshkar Singer
Bismillah Khan Hindustani classical shehnai player
Bharat Ratna 2009 Bhimsen Joshi Hindustani classical vocalist
Bharat Ratna 2014 C. N. R. Rao  Chemist and professor, author
Sachin Tendulkar Cricketer
Bharat Ratna 2015 Madan Mohan Malaviya Scholar and educational reformer.
Atal Bihari Bajpayee Elected nine times to the Lok Sabha, twice to the Rajya Sabha, and served as the Prime Minister of India for three terms.
Bharat Ratna 2019 Pranab Mukherjee Indian politician, and senior leader in the Indian National Congress.
Nanaji Deshmukh A social activist from India, education, health, and rural self-reliance.
Bhupen Hazarika  Indian playback singer, lyricist, musician, singer, poet, and filmmaker from Assam.

Previous Post
Subrahmanyam Jaishankar: Birthday Special

Subrahmanyam Jaishankar: Birthday Special

Next Post
World Hindi Day 2024 theme

World Hindi Day 2024: Theme Purpose and History!

Related Posts
Outfit Ideas for Girls Best Street Foods in Chennai Apart from Idli Dosa Laddu Gopal Winter Dresses Kalibadis to Visit in Delhi this Durga Puja Sawan Mehndi Design