Manmohan Singh: Birthday special 26 September

Avatar of Divya Sharma

Manmohan Singh is an Indian politician, economist, academician and bureaucrat who served as the 13th Prime Minister of India from 2004 to 2014. A member of the Indian National Congress, Singh was the first Sikh Prime Minister of India.

Birth and education

He was born on September 26, 1932. Dr. Manmohan Singh was born in Gah, District Chakwal, West Punjab (today’s Pakistan). After the India-Pakistan partition in 1947, his family came to India from Pakistan. His father’s name is Gurmukh Singh and mother’s name is Amrit Kaur.

Manmohan Singh studied at Punjab University and Cambridge University in Great Britain. He obtained bachelor’s and master’s degrees in economics from Punjab University in 1952 and 1954 respectively. He completed his Economic Tripos from Cambridge University in 1957. After this he did D.Phil in Economics from Oxford University in 1962.


  • Dr. Singh taught at Punjab University and Delhi School of Economics.
  • In the 1970s, he was appointed to several economic advisory positions in the Government of India and remained an advisor to several successive Prime Ministers.
  • Additionally, Singh also served as a Director (1976–80) and Governor (1982–85) of the Reserve Bank of India.
  • In the year 1991, he was made a minister in the then Narasimha Rao government.

In Politics

Finance Minister (1991–1996): Dr. Singh served as the Finance Minister of India from 1991 to 1996 under the then Narasimha Rao government. During this time, he initiated important economic reforms, which included liberalizing the Indian economy, reducing trade barriers, and encouraging foreign investment. These reforms are often credited with reviving India’s economy and paving the way for its economic growth in subsequent years.

In Opposition: After the Congress Party’s defeat in the 1996 general elections, Manmohan Singh returned to academia. However, he continued to contribute to economic policy discussions in India and remained involved in public life.

Prime Ministers (2004–2014): In the year 2004, Dr. Manmohan Singh was appointed as the 14th Prime Minister of India, serving for two consecutive terms until 2014. During his tenure, his government implemented several policies including the National Rural Employment Guarantee. Some of the major achievements of his government are – NREGA, the Right to Information Act (RTI), and the India-US civil nuclear deal.

List of Indian Prime Ministers

Prime Minister’s Names Term of Office
Jawahar Lal Nehru 15 Aug 1947 to 27 May 1964 (16Y, 286D)
Gulzarilal Nanda 27 May 1964 to 9 Jun (13D)
Lal Bahadur Shastri 9 Jun 1964 to 11 Jan 1966 (1Y, 216D)
Gulzarilal Nanda 11 Jan 1966, 24 Jan 1966 (13D)
Indira Gandhi 24 Jan 1966 to 24 Mar 1977 (11Y, 59D)
Morarji Desai 24 Mar 1977 to 28 Jul 1979 (2Y, 126D)
Charan Singh 28 Jul 1979 to 14 Jan 1980 (170D)
Indira Gandhi 14 Jan 1980 to 31 Oct 1984 (4Y, 291D)
Rajiv Gandhi 31 Oct 1984 to 2 Dec 1989 (5Y, 32D)
V. P. Singh 2 Dec 1989 to 10 Nov 1990 (343D)
Chandra Shekhar 10 Nov 1990 to 21 Jun 1991 (223D)
P. V. Narasimha Rao 21 Jun 1991 to 16 May 1996 (4Y, 330D)
Atal Bihari Vajpayee 16 May 1996 to 1 Jun 1996 (16D)
H. D. Deve Gowda 1 Jun 1996 to 21 April 1997 (324D)
Inder Kumar Gujral 21 April 1997 to 19 Mar 1998 (332D)
Atal Bihari Vajpayee 19 Mar 1998 to 22 May 2004 (6Y, 64D)
Manmohan Singh 22 May 2004 to 26 May 2014 (10Y, 4D)
Narendra Modi 26 May 2014 Present
*Y – Years | *D – Days

Previous Post
Parineeti-Raghav Wedding

Parineeti Chopra – Raghav Chadha Ties The Knot

Next Post
How Coconut water helps in PCOD Issue

How Coconut water helps in PCOD Issue?

Related Posts
Outfit Ideas for Girls Best Street Foods in Chennai Apart from Idli Dosa Laddu Gopal Winter Dresses Kalibadis to Visit in Delhi this Durga Puja Sawan Mehndi Design